The Count of Monte Cristo

This has been on my TBR list for decades, not sure why it’s taken so long to read… and I’m still reading it. It’s a beast of a book! I read somewhere that Dumas was paid per line or page and it shows.

I’m about 45% into this Kindle version of The Count of Monte Cristo and it is as good as anyone says, better even, especially the first 30% or so when it covers Dante’s brief life of freedom, incarceration, and time in prison.

I described this book to a friend as “an epic tale of betrayal and revenge,” and I think I’m finally getting to the revenge bits. The setup for the revenge is epic in and of itself… there’s no wonder why it is considered a classic!

I’m hoping the last 55% is a quicker read, though, as I’ve sworn off all other books until I finish this tome… and I’m starting to get a little anxious to read other storylines. I’m not used to reading one book at a time! Ha!

Leave a comment