Whiskey Brisket Chili

I like to experiment with recipes, I don’t think I’ve made that a secret! So when I thought I’d invented whiskey in chili (it’s a thing), I had to throw a bunch of other ingredients together and see what happened.

Ingredients

What happened was deliciousness!

Typically when I make chili, it’s bean-heavy and I’ll use ground beef and/or beef tips. A friend gave me a huge bag of completely fantastic brisket. The sandwiches I made with it were magnifique! I had so much brisket, though, that I needed to find other uses for it. It just so happened to be a cooler weekend in May, so voila!

Unfortunately for my readers, with this “recipe” I literally just threw stuff into the pot. I didn’t have as many beans as usual, so this chili was fantastically meat-heavy!

Bomb-ass Whiskey Brisket Chili

Ingredients:

  1. Brisket (probably around 2 pounds)
  2. Hot sauce (to taste; I usually use a can of some kind of Ro Tel tomatoes, but was out that day)
  3. 2 cans of chili beans
  4. 1 can of light red kidney beans
  5. 1 can of dark red kidney beans
  6. 5 slices of uncured bacon, crispy, in pieces
  7. About a fourth of a large red onion, chopped or diced
  8. About a fourth cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  9. Garlic powder, to taste
  10. About a tablespoon of dried cilantro
  11. Red chili powder, to taste
  12. 2 packets of chili seasoning, one mild and one hot
  13. 2 cups of whiskey (I used Wild Turkey 101)

When I tried it, I could taste the whiskey (which I loved). The whiskey also brought out the fire of the hot sauce, chili powder, and chili seasoning. It was an explosion of flavor to my tastebuds.

If you try this or a variation of this recipe, please respond with the results and/or suggestions!

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Call me Cordelia says:

      It was awesome! I wish I had frozen more of it for later lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

