Did you miss me? I’m baaaaack!

I can’t say I’m sorry for letting the blog lapse into silence for a month, I’ve been quite busy with life (and reading, of course)! What I will say is that the hiatus was completely unplanned.

Let me ‘splain… No, there is too much. Let me sum up.

Right after the New Year, I quit my job teaching at a public high school to accept an offer to teach at a small private alternative school. Feet first, head first, jumped in, dove right in – whatever the metaphor, January was whirlwind of creating brand new lesson plans, learning new policies and procedures, being weighed and measured and tested (oh boy was I tested!) by a new group of teenagers.

My new classroom. My own, my precious…
It didn’t take long for the kids to accept me. The chalkboard reads, “I love you Sarah as a Mom”

And as if that wasn’t enough, I also decided to dip my toes back into the world of dating. Who am I kidding? I pretty much said “fuck it” and dove right into that, too.

January, as it turned out, was a month of change and my motto was No Regrets. And truly, I have none. The hardest decisions of my life turned out to be the best things that I could’ve done for myself!

This was one of several gorgeous emails I received from my former students. Man, I miss them.

Being appreciated and supported does wonders for the body, as I learned when I dropped 20 pounds almost exclusively from the sudden lack of stress and anxiety in my life. (If I could, I’d shout from the rooftop: I LOVE MY NEW JOB!)

By February, my new students had accepted me, which was good because right after Valentines Day, I caught The Crud 🤢  and it didn’t leave me alone for almost a month.

A Month.

Just shy of FOUR WEEKS. 

The only real highlights of this month were my new ink and that, because of the new job, I had plenty of time for extra sleep and tons of free time to read.

Speaking of reading…

I’ve read four books so far this year, I’ll be finishing my fifth shortly. According to GoodReads, I’m one book behind schedule, but I’m telling you, this is a record for me! HashtagSoProudofMyself.

My copy of The Rise and Fall of the Cleveland Mafia has a different cover and was a gift from my dad’s cousin. We’re both interested in genealogy and when we found out that her mother was a school friend of one of the Lonardo daughters, well, we just ate this book up!

This is an excellent, in depth look into the Cleveland Mafia, especially during the Prohibition era. If you’re like me, with family roots in the area, this is even more meaningful. I had fun tracking locations that overlapped with my family and matching some stories about bootleggers outside the mob (and what tragically happened to them). [My GoodReads review]

I won The Fifth Petal from a GoodReads giveaway not realizing that it was a sequel. So I rushed to the library and found The Lace Reader. I enjoyed both books, the second more so than the first (The Fifth Petal was more of a psychological thriller/murder mystery, which is definitely my cuppa tea). If you like a bit of supernatural mixed in with your fictitious (but believable!) study of humanity and what motivates us, then I definitely recommend Ms. Barry’s series.

Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo blew my mind, so I was expecting The Girl who Played with Fire to be amazing. I think my GoodReads review sums it up nicely: “Wow. Just… wow.” I’m about halfway through his third book, The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest and I’m continually amazed at the level of brilliance Larsson brought to the table. I’m excited to finally watch the Swedish trilogy as soon as I finish book three… and I also got the spin off book, too, which I’ll try out after watching the movies.

All in all, not a bad start to 2017. And since today marks the first official full day of Spring Break, I imagine I’ll finish a few books before I return to school. How exciting is that?!

Leave a Reply

