Drinking while Reading…

Cherry Infused Old Fashioned and "The Rise and Fall of the Cleveland Mafia."
The Black Cherry Charred Citrus Old Fashioned and “The Rise and Fall of the Cleveland Mafia.”

I got this book over a year ago when I was in Cleveland on a genealogical dig with my cousin. She was telling me about how her mother grew up with one of the Lonardo daughters while we were eating at a swanky Italian place downtown. Really got us in the mood for research!

I’m only a few chapters in, but it’s very good. It appears to be well organized and researched. That the author is a former Cleveland cop and grandson and nephew of the infamous Porrellos of the Corn Sugar wars, only heightens my interest! That and the stories take place on E 110th and Woodland Avenues (my great-great aunt is buried in Woodland Cemetery), both streets where my German/Swiss ancestors lived and grew up. I’m not exactly sure, but it appears my family lived less than 5 miles away from this “action.” Makes me definitely wonder what they knew, what they saw, what they heard–even if they didn’t cross the line into Little Italy.


I used this recipe for the drink, The Black Cherry Charred Citrus Old Fashioned. I kept forgetting to get bitters, so I guess technically what I drank was not an Old Fashioned… but otherwise, I followed the steps. It was pretty good! Please note that the cherries will taste like straight bourbon if you decide to munch on them when the drink is gone! Also, the cherry-infused bourbon tasted pretty good added to a Coke.

Leave a Reply

