Of Mice and Men

Tomorrow we’re reading chapter 6 of “Of Mice and Men.” If you know what that means, then you know how my class will feel come mid-morning.

screen-shot-2016-10-12-at-9-04-31-pm
Yes, Finn thinks Steinbeck is delicious, too.

I chose Of Mice and Men because I convinced myself of two things: that I’d read the book before and that I’d taught the book before.

A few weeks ago I realized that I’d never actually read the whole book. I’ve tutored a lot of kids who’ve read it and have definitely seen the movies, but never actually read the novel.

How sad is that?

Not really that sad because as my students are discovering the wonderful imagery and story-telling of Steinbeck, I am too. We’re definitely sharing an overwhelming sense of wonderment.

I feel confident that the majority of the class — even those few who’ve read it before and a few more who’ve had the ending ruined by a friend outside of class — will experience a gigantic void once we read the last words.

I almost feel bad that we’re doing this right before a three day weekend, but to be honest, I’m looking forward to Monday. After they’ve had time to process, I’m excited to get them started on an argument essay about justifying the choices various characters made (including George’s last act). If you don’t know what I’m talking about, READ THIS NOVEL. It’s only six chapters and I’ve linked a pdf version for you!

One Comment Add yours

  1. clcouch123 says:

    Thank you for the link. I saw a production of the play. Speaks to modern literature and to modern times. The responses of your students should make for substantial conversation. Have a pleasant, longer weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

