Drinking while reading…

In the spirit of the season (if not the weather), I swung by my favorite coffee shop and picked up a Pumpkin Spice Mocha. I’m really not one for pumpkins except in the pie form and that only once or twice a year, but this was pretty good!

14484612_10154590663799806_8124755515451100914_nLast spring, I got really interested in Pico Iyer and Matthieu Ricard based on an article on stillness that I can no longer find. The article prompted me to read Iyer’s The Art of Stillness, which was fantastic. I need to buy my own copy so I can annotate it. Actually, I think it would be an interesting experiment in self reflection and growth to keep a journal each time I read it, recording my thoughts, connections, and comparing them with previous entries.

I started Ricard’s Motionless Journey — his photographs from “the hermitage’s terrace and surroundings that bears witness to nature’s harmony mixing intimately with the peacefulness of meditation” (GoodReads) — a few months ago. I loved it and so I rushed through the pages until last week, when I realized I was half through the book but couldn’t remember what I’d read, even from the page before. I think I missed the point of the book, right?

So, I’ve started over and am taking this read much, much slower. I re-read as many pages as I need for as many days as it takes. This may be a year-long endeavor, but it’s worth renewing from the library (and probably worth purchasing, too).

2 Comments Add yours

  1. hey elsa says:

    that’s one of my favorite things to do, having coffee and reading, just relaxing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. clcouch123 says:

    Sounds as if you found good ways through both books. I hope you enjoy the longer journey through the book by Ricard.

    I appreciate the pumpkin drink review. I now feel happily pressed to try.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

