What I’m Reading…

I couldn’t renew Meditations anymore (Geez, Sarah, you’ve had it since June, what did you expect?!), so I talked with my school’s librarian about audiobooks. She has a small collection that I can download on my phone, which is perfect for me as I have been wanting to be able to read more while working out and doing the dreaded household chores.

img_0560Unfortunately, our school’s audiobook selection is limited and so I chose this book at random.

At first, I didn’t like it. Rule’s attention to excruciating detail of the crime scene bored me — but then I realized this was a true crime story (remember, I chose this at random, without reading any blurbs about it).

Now that I’m about a quarter of the way through it, I’m hooked! Brad Cunningham is the worst kind of piece of dirt and I want to know how he’s caught, drawn, and quartered.

Oh, and there’s a mini-series I may check out later.

I wonder if this story ever made it to 20/20 or Dateline?

double-sin

My new tutoring client had me traveling a few miles, back to one of my favorite childhood libraries. Though quite small, it had an amazing collection of Agatha Christie novels, two short stories I’d not heard of.

Double Sin is a collection of Poirot shorts (no pun intended, but you’re welcome for the chuckle).

Some of them are entertaining, some of them actually quite irritating. Poirot is really quite the little arrogant arse sometimes!

Despite Poirot’s character flaws, I’m enjoying this book. Many of the stories were turned into early episodes on the David Suchet series.


Featured Image Credit: Kari Shea

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. clcouch123 says:

    You touch on many pleasant things. Libraries from childhood. Poirot stories (yes, he can be annoying). Folk who deserve it getting quartered. (Okay, a sardonic, if not sadistic, though righteous–though I’m reaching–kind of pleasure.) A friend of mine who drives much more than I has been pressing audiobooks. Except the one of them I’m listening to now. It’s Rebecca, read by Anna Massey. Ken finds it torturous going. His wife loves the story and the writing. I’m with her. Happy reading of all kinds!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Call me Cordelia says:

      I’m not a fan of the guy reading the book, but the story is fascinating!

      Like

Leave a Reply

