Grandma’s Creamy Oatmeal

I have all these pictures of making spritz cookies with my siblings and Grandma, but I don’t really remember doing it. What I do remember is one morning waking up early and Grandma making me oatmeal for breakfast.

I was used to adding brown sugar, butter, and milk after it was in the bowl. Grandma said she made it a better way, cooking it with milk and not adding it later. I was skeptical, but tried it. I don’t remember if I liked it, actually, but I just made it this morning and let me tell you — it is scrumptious!

I followed the directions on the oatmeal container, serves 1:

  • Bring 1 cup milk to boil
  • Add ½ cup oats
  • (I did not add salt)
  • Turn heat down
  • Stir until thickens

Grandma would eat it “plain” like this. My mom would let us add things to sweeten it.

13765874_10154392795549806_2342043690550118250_o

I added brown sugar, butter, raisins and dried apricots and served it in the only dish I “inherited” from my grandparents. They would serve Grandpa’s beef and barley stew in them, I think it’s perfect for oatmeal.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. That looks delicious

    Like

  2. clcouch123 says:

    The photograph is terrific. Makes the oatmeal look so appetizing. Adding apricots is novel (to me); I’d think them in there very much. I like oatmeal now; maybe I liked it then. Raisins weren’t always in supply, because my brother didn’t like them. Cheers for growing up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

