Three and a Half Decades of Reading

A post on Lectito inspired this and I must say thank you to Margot for the delightful trip down memory lane!

Books have been an intimate part of my life for as long as I can remember. I didn’t go to preschool, but I entered kindergarten knowing how to read, thanks to my parents and grandparents patience and persistence.

1 Book CollageI took to reading like a duck to water! Once that door was open, there was no looking back.

Since about the second grade, I read “above my level” and so from a young age, was exposed to some mature themes. I don’t think my parents were fully cognizant of the maturity level of some of the books (especially once I was old enough to walk to the library by myself!), but it ended up doing more good than harm.

The following are thirty-five books, one for each year I’ve been alive, that mean something to me.

It could be they sparked my imagination, or created my fascination of letter writing, or clouded my view of love, or reminded me what love is, or deepened my interest in history, or created a capacity for compassion and acceptance, or empowered me as a woman or teacher or friend, or I just plain liked because it was darn entertaining.

Enjoy!

Like Margot, I am not including blurbs (except one); I reserve the right to do so later – probably on a separate post. I also did 2 Book Collagemy best to list them in the order I read them, please forgive me if you know me and see a chronology error.

A link to GoodReads is included… and while you’re there, give me a follow!

Where the Wild Things Are
GoodReads

Danger on Panther Peak
GoodReads

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle
GoodReads

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee
GoodReads

Across Five Aprils
GoodReads

Young Pioneers
GoodReads3 Book Collage

Summer of My German Soldier
GoodReads

Daniel’s Story
GoodReads

Anne of Green Gables series
GoodReads

Daddy Long Legs
GoodReads

A Girl of the Limberlost
GoodReads

Jane Eyre (An Open Letter)
GoodReads

Christy
GoodReads4 Book Collage

The Blue Castle
GoodReads

Hamlet
GoodReads

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall
GoodReads

Les Misérables
GoodReads

Ivanhoe
GoodReads

The Scarlet Letter
GoodReads

The Atonement Child
GoodReads

Othello
GoodReads

Touching Spirit Bear5 Book Collage
GoodReads

Auntie Mame
GoodReads

Wide Sargasso Sea
GoodReads

A Time to Kill
GoodReads

Crooked House
GoodReads

The Autobiography of Malcolm X
GoodReads

The Harry Potter Series
GoodReads

Timeline6 Book Collage
GoodReads

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
GoodReads

The Outsiders
GoodReads

Life Together
GoodReads

And Then There Were None
GoodReads

Johnny Got His Gun
GoodReads

Tiny Beautiful Things
GoodReads


Featured Image Credit: Unspash’s Glen Noble

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Lectito says:

    I’m so excited you decided to do this too! I love hearing about the books that stick with different readers, and I have to admit there are quite a few on this list that I haven’t read! More for The Pile!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. clcouch123 says:

    What an interesting, enjoyable listing to read! Certainly, you’ve read terrific stories. I enjoyed Timeline, and this is the first time I’ve seen another mention of it. You might enjoy Below the Salt (though it’s in a dated voice). I’m happy for your fluid talent and liking of reading. I tend to love what I’m reading, though I find the reading act difficult. Which is why, I’m sure, I became an English teacher. Thanks for sharing these inspiring works!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rebekah says:

    Ahh I forgot about Christy; I need to revisit that book. 🙂 Love your list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Call me Cordelia says:

      Thank you! I think that next year I might focus more on re-reads… so many I want to experience as an adult and compare what I feel to what I remember…

      Like

Leave a Reply

