A Good Author (I’ve never read)

If you know me, then you understand my deep and abiding love for British murder mysteries. I adore Masterpiece Mystery and find myself marathoning series that originally aired on BBC, ITV, or Acorn TV without even thinking about it.

So, no one was more surprised than I – an avid reader and huge fan of the likes of Anne Perry – when I discovered that two of my favorite shows are actually based on novels by Ann Cleeves.

(By the way, she was not married to Henry VIII, in case you, too, are confused.)

1VERA
“With her caustic wit and singular charm, DCI Vera Stanhope and her trusted right-hand man DS Joe Ashworth face a series of captivating murder mysteries set against the breathtaking Northumberland landscape.” (IMDB)



DI Jimmy Perez and his team investigate crimes within the close knit island community of Shetland.
 

1shetland“In this isolated and sometimes inhospitable environment, the team have to rely on a uniquely resourceful style of policing. Set against a hauntingly beautiful landscape, Shetland is based on the best selling books Red Bones, Raven Black, Dead Water and Blue Lightning.” (Amazon)

Once I’m through with A Clash of Kings mayhap I’ll mosey on down to the public library and see what Ann Cleeves novels they have in stock. It will be hard to choose which series to begin first… any suggestions?


Featured Image Credit: Warrington Guardian (via Google Images search)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. clcouch123 says:

    Yes, I was confused by the name until you clarified. I’ve seen Vera though don’t know Shetland. When my Netflix friends are not happily pummeling me with movies I haven’t asked to see (though we are friends), we watch British mystery. Our favorite shows at present are Lewis (sans Morse, sadly) and Midsomer (we’ve come to like the second Barnaby). Endeavour, Sherlock, Jack Irish, Wire in the Blood, and others have been enjoyed, going back (though we expect Endeavour and Sherlock to return). Thanks for illumination!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Call me Cordelia says:

      I like all of those shows, too, though I haven’t seen Jack Irish. Endeavour and Sherlock are HIGH on my list of great TV 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

