What I’m reading…

the-man-from-snowy-river-and-other-versesOne of my first crushes was on Jim Craig (character), The Man from Snowy River. And then I realized that although I was watching the movie in the ’90’s, it was actually made in 1982 and Tom Burlinson (actor) was the same age as my mother! 😳

But I got over this and continue to love this movie and have been known to show it in class or when I babysit. It’s a great western and is a beautiful love story: not just between a man and a woman, but also between a man and his horse, and a family and their land.

I always read the credits, so I was not surprised that the movie was based on the poems of A.B. “Banjo” Paterson. What is surprising is that it’s 2016 and I’m just now getting to reading the poems myself!

So far, this collection does not disappoint. The opening poem (giving us the title of the book and film) creates vivid images in my mind, not that far from the epic scenes that establishes Jim as a legend:

Leave a Reply

