Brussels Sprouts Salad

I love brussels sprouts in it’s many forms, but I rarely am more adventurous with them than to steam them with butter or pan fry them in bacon grease.

Last week, my friends and I went to a very swanky restaurant and enjoyed multiple-course dinners. One course was a brussels sprouts salad. My friend ordered it, so I only got a quick look at it. This inspired me to try it at home.

I based my recipe off of these two: from the Food Network and from Iowa Girl Eats. Enjoy!

12419377_10153845509299806_575334926584074621_o
Served with Baked Herb Chicken and Garlic Parmesan Roasted Potatoes, recipes for these are separate.

My Take on the Brussels Sprouts Salad
Prep Time: 20 minutes | Serving size: about ½ cup | Serves about 6

Ingredients:

  • Brussels sprouts, thawed (I used a package of fresh sprouts from Aldis that I’d frozen)
  • Uncured bacon, 4 slices
  • Dried cranberries (to taste)
  • 1 small red onion
  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Dijon/Brown mustard
  • Honey
  • Pecans, about ⅓ cup
  • Feta Cheese (to taste)
  • Salt and pepper (to taste)

Steps (as best as I can remember them):

  1. Thaw sprouts, remove excess water (if necessary
  2. Slice sprouts, relatively thinly, but not so thin they shred. Place in a bowl
  3. Fry bacon, very crisp, then crumble it, add to bowl
  4. Slice a red onion thinly, pan fry in olive oil until crispy. Cool, then add to bowl
  5. Add dried cranberries
  6. Mix separately: balsamic vinegar, olive oil, mustard, honey; add to bowl
  7. Chop pecans, add to bowl
  8. Add salt, pepper, and feta cheese to bowl
  9. Mix, then serve.

Note: I have no idea how this is supposed to taste. I thought it was delicious! It did have a slight bitter taste (from the leafy sprouts?), so I’m not sure if I need to remove the outer leaves first?

Note: It browns and wilts quickly in the fridge, so best practice is to make only what you will immediately serve.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. clcouch123 says:

    Wonderful photograph. And the dish sounds tasty. All except the pecans, which is simply a problem with my taste. I’d try substituting walnuts or maybe almonds. (I should lose my Southern status for not liking pecans.) More importantly, what a terrific way to have Brussels sprouts. Which many don’t but I greatly enjoy. Thanks for sharing this treat!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Call me Cordelia says:

      I think cashews would be a nice tough, too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

