I failed. Utterly, and completely.

I read only 14 of my promised 50 books. I am a miserable failure. Except for one thing.

Without this challenge (below), I would never have read the majority of the books I completed in 2015.

I did not succeed in letter of this challenge, but I certainly did in the spirit.

I literally stretched myself literarily (I thought I made up this word, but it’s actually real!) and came away stronger.

Several I still have not reviewed properly, that is my goal for 2016. If you are too impatient, then you can always check out my GoodReads updates, though I cannot promise they will be as satisfying, ha!

Without further ado, here are the 14 I finished in 2015, in order of completion.

2015 Reading ChallengeBook of short stories: Dorothy M. Johnson’s “The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance and Other Stories” (Feb 2015)

Book that became a movie: Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl (March 2015)

Book based on a true story: Michael Punke’s The Revenant (April 2015)

Book that was originally written in a different language: Isabel Allende’s Zorro (June 2015)

Book by a female author: Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary (June 2015)

A non-fiction book: Mary Ellen Mark’s Falkland Road: Prostitutes of Bombay (June 2015)

A popular author’s first book: Kathryn Stockett’s The Help. (June 2015)

A book based on or turned into a TV show: George R.R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones, book 1 in “A Song of Ice and Fire.” (July 2015)

A book a friend recommended: Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods. (Oct 2015)

A mystery or thriller: Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Oct 2015)

Book by an author that I never read: Cheryl Strayed’s Wild (Nov 2015)

A funny book: Laurie Notaro’s It Looked Better on the Model (Dec 2015) 

A banned book: Dalton Trumbo’s Johnny Got His Gun (Dec 2015)

A book that made me cry: Cheryl Strayed’s Tiny Beautiful Things (Dec 2015)

My failure has not cowed me, not in the slightest. I’m sure that 2016 will bring me another ridiculously unattainable reading challenge. I will accept it, of course, and revel in my new literary defeat come December 2016. 😀

4 Comments Add yours

  1. clcouch123 says:

    Definitely a disappointment-blessing. For now you have more books to read! I think what you have read is an impressive array. And inspirational. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicole Potts says:

    Loved reading this little summary. Your wit and spunk always shine through your writing. Nice attempt and good luck making some progress this year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Call me Cordelia says:

      Thanks friend, I hope you enjoy the rest of the blog, as well. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

