Holiday Cookies

In lieu of soppy Christmas memories, I thought I’d share my new favorite cookie recipe.

I know. No one’s more surprised than me that it’s not chocolate with chocolate chips and smothered in fudge frosting!

IMG_4783

Friend: These are delicious, very oatmealy, though. Me: Well, I didn’t measure the oats… or the raisins…

Friend: If only we all could la-dee-da our ways through recipes as if they’re suggestions like you do!

The base of this cookie came from this recipe but I changed a few things (mostly because I never plan ahead!).

I’m sure it would be quite tasty with walnuts and molasses… if you try it that way, please let me know!

ENJOY! 🙂

SOFT & CHEWY OATMEAL RAISIN COOKIES
Makes about 20 cookies

Ingredients:

  •  1 cup unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar (I’m not sure it was a full cup)
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar (I used SPLENDA® and added extra)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract (I always, always! add extra extract)
  • 1½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1½ teaspoons ground cinnamon (also added extra)
  • 3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (added extra of this, too)
  • 1 cup raisins (once again, I added more)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F (177°C).
  2. Cream the softened butter and both sugars together until smooth. Add the eggs and mix. Add the vanilla and mix until combined. Set aside.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and cinnamon.
  4. Add dry to the wet ingredients and mix until combined. Mix in the oats, raisins.
  5. Chill the dough for 30-60 minutes in the refrigerator.
  6. Roll balls of dough (about a tablespoon of dough per cookie) and place 2 inches apart on the baking sheets.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes until very lightly browned on the sides. The centers will look very soft and undone.
  8. Remove from the oven and let cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. The cookies will continue to “set” on the baking sheet during this time.

10403068_10153822380264806_6711006478421769860_n

Merry Christmas from Finn & me

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

