The Best Chicken Salad

Anytime I need a dish for a potluck, this is what I make. Everyone asks me where I got the recipe and I always laugh and tell the truth: I made it up!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 boneless chicken breasts
  • Garlic powder (to taste)
  • ½ jar of mayonnaise
  • ¾ medium red onion, chopped
  • 3-4 oz. of grape tomatoes, sliced thin
  • Approximately 4 pieces of fried uncured bacon, crispy and crumbled
  • Approximately 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Put chicken and garlic powder in crock pot. I put the chicken in frozen so I don’t have to add water. I probably use about 2 tablespoons of garlic powder, not sure – I just sprinkle it on until the chicken is covered.
  2. Cook on high until chicken falls apart, but still has moisture. (4-6 hours approximately)
  3. Shred chicken
  4. Let chicken cool off before adding ingredients.
  5. Add mayonnaise, shredded cheese, chopped onion, sliced tomatoes, and bacon crumbles. Mix well.
  6. Chill until ready to serve.

I typically serve these with crackers, but it makes good sandwiches, too… and I saw a few coworkers use it as a “dip” for their veggies! Enjoy!

One Comment Add yours

  1. clcouch123 says:

    My goodness, thanks for sharing the recipe! We’ve been let in! I think the grapes are an especially extraordinary addition. I sometimes add grapes or raisins to tuna salad, though the metallic taste of tuna is daunting, anymore. What a gift! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

