In the Heart of the Sea

I was never a big fan of Moby Dick, mostly because I couldn’t get past the hundreds of pages of descriptions of whales and the oceans. But, what a killer intro!Screen Shot 2015-12-21 at 9.20.24 AM

To say that I was skeptical about In the Heart of the Sea would be an understatement. I love adventures, I love historical, based-on-true-events adventures even more. But the inspiration for Moby Dick? Hmmm… not so sure.

But it was a Friday night and I had nothing better to do, so when my friends said, “Hey, let’s go see In the Heart of the Sea,” I said “Sure!” despite my brother’s warning not to be “swayed by gorgeous men without shirts.”

This movie was fabulous, action-packed, tear-jerking, amusing — it had everything! Best of all, there was nothing ridiculous or gratuitous!

The cast was well chosen. Chris Hemsworth was believable as a confident, capable, captain-material man of character. Cillian Murphy was a very likable side-kick (it was nice to see him as something other than the evil bad guy). Benjamin Walker made an excellent arrogant arse. Brendan Gleeson and Michelle Fairley’s chemistry was palpable–and both their accents are lovely!

I saw many familiar faces, especially from the Harry Potter and Game of Thrones series, which was a treat. The only nit picks I have are quite small: Hemsworth’s accent was quite changeable, not always of the “American” variety. Ben Whishaw made a rather sniveling Melville — not that his portrayal wasn’t accurate, I have no concept of Melville as a man. I’m just not a fan of Whishaw, for some reason.

Acting critiques aside, this was a powerful movie. It’s made me ignore my kibosh on buying new books (no more shelf space? what a terrible reason to not buy books!) so that I can buy both Moby Dick and In the Heart of the Sea. I’m quite excited! My dad has read about The Essex before, which already piqued my interest. I’ll let you know what I think of the books in a review, of course!

To address my brother’s sardonic comment from before, the only men without shirts were starving to death, and as my friend so truthfully retorted, “starving men ain’t sexy.”

2 Comments Add yours

  1. clcouch123 says:

    Thanks for your review! Yes, by “Cetology” I had had enough of the novel. And I knew about the original events and didn’t think I’d like seeing them portrayed. But your depiction of the film makes it enticing to see (and hear and all the rest). Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Call me Cordelia says:

      The film is very tastefully done, if you pardon my pun. They very easily could’ve made this infinitely more graphic, but instead they focused on the emotions and endurance of those who survived.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

