In the spirit of Thanksgiving…

Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 4.27.44 PM
Click on the image above for the BuzzFeed article.

I cannot think of one book that I am most thankful for. I’ve been sitting here for a half hour trying to arrow it down to one title, and I can’t. But there is one thing I am most thankful for, and that is the ability to and the passion for reading. Without my life would be a dull, grey void.

Here are five books that have brightened my life:

  1. The Book of Psalms (especially chapter 139)
  2. Sex with Kings by Eleanor Herman (you should try the “sequel” as well, Sex with the Queen)
  3. Danger on Panther Peak by Bill Wallace
  4. The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery
  5. Auntie Mame by Patrick Dennis

Do you have a book that you are most thankful for?

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ella Enchanted! By Gail Carson Levine but Psalms is also one of the books that I’m thankful for as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. clcouch123 says:

    I was a poor reader and even afraid to read, because I never seemed to get the response and interpretation right for school. (So I studied literature and became an English teacher.) A Journey to the Center of the Earth helped get me to read. It was not assigned; I simply picked it up. It was the first novel I read three times. The Scarlet Letter is a beautifully written story, bittersweet of course, that meant a great deal to me at the time I read it. But I’d have to say the story that has served me best or most is The Hobbit. I’ve read it, researched it, taught it, presented a paper at a conference about it, and had the essay published. I want to be hobbit, well, one like Bilbo Baggins, leading a simple, artful life. Or Frodo, since maybe I can relate to his long-suffering nature. I have a blade-length scar on my upper chest, too much like Frodo’s stab received on Weathertop. Like Frodo, my wound will never fully heal. But I think it’s the easy, clever way that hobbits live that really reaches me. Tolkien claimed for himself, “I am, after all, a hobbit.” That resonates. As a mentor, I guess I have to be ready to serve like the wizard. But it’s the hobbit’s life I’m after. Thanks for offering us the question!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

