Wild

Wild was a fabulous book that I didn’t want to like.

The narrator irritated me – her destructive life-path (even whilst on the trail) frustrated me, almost to the point that I quit reading.

But then it hit me like a mirror. Everyone’s life is self-destructive in at least one area, who am I to judge hers? Her epic journey took guts and a lot of luck and if I’m honest, if you’re honest, then we have to admit that we all need to attribute our survival to just that.

Cheryl Strayed is a gifted writer; her voice is smooth, sympathetic, and quite raw at times. I believe it took some serious moxie to write with such honesty, especially since it appeared to be written for her husband and children. Her adventure is equal parts stunning and horrifying, but in the end, I admired her for never, ever giving up.

I’m excited to try the movie adaptation (of the same name) starring Reece Witherspoon. I’ve heard it’s excellent and really captures the spirit and grit of the book.

P.S. As much as I didn’t want to like this book, it did inspire me to take more walks… but I am constantly disappointed that when I get home, there’s no box with $20 ;).

2 Comments Add yours

  1. clcouch123 says:

    Thanks for the review. I pretty much overlooked the movie and did not know the story in print at all. All that’s now changed. Clearly, your dog is moved as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Call me Cordelia says:

      The irony of that photo is lost on no one!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

