Book Confessions

I’m a list maker.  My grandpa would have said it’s a sign of genius. My uncle would say it’s because I’m German. I think it’s because I have an overwhelming urge to write down numbered goals or statements which then fills me with such feelings of accomplishment, I don’t actually need to do any of them! 😉

Anyway, here’s a list I found and then tweaked… and had a blast doing!

1. Book you started but couldn’t finish.

There are two books that stand out in my memory, both I started while I was in high school.

The first was Michael Shara’s Killer Angels, which surprised me because at the time (and for years after) I was obsessed with anything Civil War. I remember being bored in the first chapter(s) and put it down, never to be picked up again.

The second was Margaret Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind. Again, this is surprising as I love historical fiction and would typically devour anything concerning antebellum south. But… my teenaged self could not stand Scarlett O’Hara. I’ve recently restarted this classic and absolutely adore it!

2. Popular book series you haven’t read.

There are so many: The Hunger Games, The Lord of the Rings, The Mysteries of Sherlock Holmes… the last two are high on my to-read list. The former, not so much. I started reading it a few years ago… and then I watched the movie and I suddenly didn’t need to read it anymore (so sad).

3. Book you bought because of the hype.

The Host by Stephanie Meyers. I couldn’t get past the first few pages, so I donated it to my classroom library (and no one’s borrowed it in two years).

4. Book you want to see being made into a movie.

Elizabeth Kostova’s The Historian is one of my favorite novels. It mixes history, mystery, horror, conspiracy theory, and Dracula.

I heard rumors that it was going to be made into a movie a few years ago, but that never came to fruition. I think it would be wonderfully fantastic to actually see what my mind has only imagined.

5. A “You should read before you die” book that you don’t plan to read.

That’s got to be Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. I’ve seen several movie versions and found it to be horribly depressing. I actually do plan to read this book… someday. No rush.

6. A book you love that was made into a terrible movie or tv show.

I honestly can’t think of one for this. There have been many movies that I haven’t enjoyed as much as the book… but “terrible” is such a strong word…

7. Book that made you cry.

There are so many!

Most recently A Game of Thrones and The Help.

8. Book that made you laugh, and laugh, and laugh!

Most recently, Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods. I thoroughly enjoyed each guffaw while reading Bridget Jones’ Diary and Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir).

9. Book that you found randomly but has turned into one of your favorites.

It’s not exactly a favorite, but it has resonated with me for years: Nicci French’s The Red Room.

It was one of the first books that scared me, but I enjoyed the fear and the anticipation. I’d like to find it again and see if it affects me the same.

10. Book that annoy all your friends raving about.

I added this one because right after The Historian came out, I binge read it and then bought a copy for everyone I knew. And then every time I talked with someone, I’d figure out a way to introduce it into the conversation and offer to get them a copy (which they already had, because I’d already give it to them, ha!).

Leave a Reply

