Why I Write

I write
for so many reasons
some mundane
some fantastic
others because I feel dramatic
But really
truly

I write because of a burning desire, a need to be heard despite my voice being oh so unreliable. An interesting mix of shyness and confidence, my voice: my writing is my best voice.

I write
because so many stories
some mundane
some fantastic
others more dramatic
must
be told

I write because I need to work through the details, the emotions, the complexities of life: past and present and future.

Turning names, dates, documents into narratives. Tracing a line – a thread – through time; connecting then with now: drawing conclusions and asking questions. Discovering me.

Turning classroom antics and personal tragedies into something I can hold on to, even when my heart is bursting: with laughter or with sorrow. Embracing my place.

Turning plans, dreams, hopes, aspirations into something tangible. Exploration of the possible, testing the probable; being content with change. Becoming my destiny.

I write
because to not write
is death


Featured Image Credit: Unsplash’s Green Chameleon

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Neha Jain says:

    That is a very emphatic and a very beautiful poem. “Turning names, dates, documents into narratives. Tracing a line – a thread – through time; connecting then with now: drawing conclusions and asking questions. Discovering me.” Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Call me Cordelia says:

      Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

