My favorite poem… right now

This is part of my Writing 201 course through Blogging University; I’m a week behind, but this challenge really spoke to me:

This weekend, share with us a poem that you love (by someone who isn’t you, please)… Most importantly: tell us, in a sentence or two, what about it moves you.

My tastes fluctuate a great deal, but this is definitely my favorite right now. It helps that I’m currently teaching Hamlet but that is not the only factor.

Since I also enjoy photography, I added another layer by using one of my favorite sunset photographs that, I think, enhances the passion and horror of revenge clearly evident throughout the play.

Never Doubt I Love

I like that, in isolation, it is a gorgeous statement of genuine, deep affection. However, within the context of the play, it represents one piece of the larger tragedy that is Hamlet: a missive sent to Ophelia, one of many that Hamlet later cruelly denies, thus contributing to her death.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. clcouch123 says:

    It is lovely, compelling verse. And it challenges the irony of lines of Shakespeare pulled out of their context. Oh, well. It’s still lovely, compelling verse. Thanks for selecting and sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

