Today’s Find: A Plethora of C.S. Lewis

This is not so much a “find of today” as a “these were given to me in July but I’m just now going through them and looking at them.” I’m very excited about this as it will now be easier to fulfill my goal of reading everything C.S. Lewis.

I thoroughly enjoyed what I read of Mere ChristianityI’m not sure why I never finished it or how I thought it would be a good idea to get rid of it years ago.

My dad loved The Screwtape Letters and I remember him recommending I read it when I was in high school. I usually listened to him, so I’m not sure why this never happened. Actually, in the spirit of honesty on a Sunday morning, I was never a big fan of reading about demons, especially after my Frank Peretti experiences. Thanks to years of friends making* me watch horror movies, my disinclination has considerably waned. Yep, Screwtape, you’re headed to the top of the list! (*Ok, ok, they didn’t make so much as invited me to go to the movies with them. There, satisfied now, Honesty Police?! Ha!)

As I’ve said before, I grew up watching the BBC/Wonderworks version from the late 1980’s. Here’s a trailer that I think you’ll get a kick out of:

It is a small wonder that I didn’t start reading the series until I was an adult and only then because the young lady I was tutoring really enjoyed fantasy fiction and we hadn’t yet discovered Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

