The Heart Attack Breakfast

This is one of my favorite breakfasts, but I don’t make it as often as I’d like (which is probably a good thing, ha!)

What you see: breakfast potatoes, crispy bacon, scrambled eggs with cheese and sausage gravy. I usually don’t serve it with gravy, but I had some left over from the biscuits and gravy I made earlier.

And now for the recipes:

Rosemary Roasted Potatoes
http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/rosemary-roasted-potatoes-recipe.html
Total Time: 1 hr 8 min | Prep: 8 min | Cook: 1 hr | Yield: 3 to 4 servings


Ingredients

1½ pounds small red or white-skinned potatoes (or a mixture)
⅛ cup good olive oil
¾ teaspoon kosher salt
½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 tablespoons minced garlic (3 cloves)
2 tablespoons minced fresh rosemary leaves

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Cut the potatoes in half or quarters and place in a bowl with the olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic and rosemary; toss until the potatoes are well coated.

Dump the potatoes on a baking sheet and spread out into 1 layer; roast in the oven for at least 1 hour, or until browned and crisp. Flip twice with a spatula during cooking to ensure even browning.

Remove the potatoes from the oven, season to taste, and serve.

Notes on the potatoes

  1. I don’t skin the potatoes; I think it adds flavor and color.
  2. I don’t use fresh rosemary; instead I used the dried spices. I have substituted thyme (pictured) and it was delicious. A friend uses oregano and said that is good, too.
  3. I sometimes use garlic powder instead of cloves, still tastes just as good.
  4. The potatoes taste just as good when you broil them, instead of baking (just keep an eye on them so they don’t burn).

Sausage Gravy
http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sausage-gravy.html 
Total Time: 45 min | Prep: 25 min | Cook: 20 min | Yield:12 servings

Ingredients

1 pound breakfast sausage, hot or mild
⅓ cup all-purpose flour
3 to 4 cups whole milk, more to taste
½ teaspoon seasoned salt
2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper, more to taste
Biscuits, warmed, for serving

Directions

With your finger, tear small pieces of sausage and add them in a single layer to a large heavy skillet. Brown the sausage over medium-high heat until no longer pink. Reduce the heat to medium-low. Sprinkle on half the flour and stir so that the sausage soaks it all up, then add more little by little. Stir it around and cook it for another minute or so, then pour in the milk, stirring constantly.

Cook the gravy, stirring frequently, until it thickens. (This may take a good 10 to 12 minutes.) Sprinkle in the seasoned salt and pepper and continue cooking until very thick and luscious. If it gets too thick too soon, just splash in another 1/2 cup of milk or more if needed. Taste and adjust the seasoning.

Spoon the sausage gravy over warm biscuits and serve immediately!

Notes on the Sausage Gravy

  1. This is the first recipe I’ve found where, when I followed the directions, the gravy came out white and not an obvious brown color (very excited about this)
  2. I did not tear the sausage into small pieces with my fingers; I used a spoon to separate the meat from it’s packaging mold.

And since I was talking about biscuits… here’s my new favorite recipe:

Buttermilk Biscuits
http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/buttermilk-biscuits-recipe4.html
Total Time: 50 min | Prep: 20 min | Cook: 30 min | Yield:4 to 5 servings

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for flouring
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon sugar
¾ teaspoon salt
½ cup shortening, such as Crisco
About 1 cup buttermilk

Directions

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Stir together the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt in a medium bowl. Use a pastry blender, two butter knives or your fingers to cut in the shortening until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Using a rubber spatula, gently fold in the buttermilk to make a soft dough. Use a little more buttermilk, if necessary, to keep the dough very soft.

Lightly flour your table or countertop and dust your hands with flour. Turn the dough out onto the floured surface and gently pat it into a cake 1 1/2 inches high. Use a 3-inch biscuit cutter to cut the dough into rounds. Use a pastry scraper or a metal spatula to place the cutout biscuits, with sides closely touching, on the parchment-lined sheet. Gently pat the scraps together, sprinkling on a little buttermilk to keep dough soft, and cut out more biscuits.

Bake until golden brown, 20 to 30 minutes.

Notes on the biscuits

  1. I did not use a pastry blender; turned out just fine doing it all by hand.
  2. I didn’t have parchment paper, so I used wax paper and it turned out fine.
  3. I used a cutter that was too large, so my biscuits didn’t come out as thick as I had hoped.

And since I absolutely adore bacon

I switched to uncured bacon last year and I’ve been amazed at intense flavors, more so than all of the fake-flavored brands I used to by.

Plus, look at the amazing colors and textures!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Howto$tuffYourPig says:

    I have 1/2 a bag of potatoes left from the week. I will have to try this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

