Sorry, I have to leave Mr. Gray behind…

No, not that Mr. Grey. Mr. Gray.

Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 11.38.37 AM
Image Credit: GoodReads

After finishing A Game of Thrones, I decided to pick up a classic. But which one? Two of my favorite plays are by Oscar Wilde, so why not choose his most famous and controversial work, A Picture of Dorian Gray?

The introduction was fascinating. I had no idea the extent of the scrutiny and condemnation Oscar Wilde received as a direct result of this book.

But.

The first chapter was excruciating. The second chapter was slightly better. I just couldn’t justify re-reading each word because I would scan in boredom and then not know what I was reading.

I’m not saying this is a bad book. I am saying I’m not ready for Dorian Gray. I do plan to revisit this once my mind is not so tired from teaching (aka Winter or Spring Break).

Instead, I picked up A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson and laughed my ass off at least twice on every page so far. And did you know they’re making it into a movie?! 


Featured Image Credit: Unsplash’s Malik Earnest

2 Comments Add yours

  1. It took me a few tries to get into The Picture of Dorian Gray. It definitely has a bit of a tedious beginning, but if you read it when you’re in the right mindset, it’s great in my opinion. A Walk in the Woods has been on my TBR for ages, so I’m glad to hear something good about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Call me Cordelia says:

      I figured The Picture of Dorian Gray would be like that, which is why I’m not giving up on it completely. When I’m done with A Walk in the Woods, I’ll do a longer write-up, I’m sure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

