Shelf Love, Part 3

IMG_1281What you see here is an interesting mix of books I love and books I’ve never read.

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling: I’ve wanted to read this one for awhile, despite the negative reviews. I tried watching the miniseries based on this book, but couldn’t get into it. I’m sure I’ll give it another go.

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Graham-Smith: When I first heard of the movie version, I laughed and laughed and laughed with the utmost derision. Then I watched it and I was thoroughly entertained. Even though this book has been on my shelf for ages, I really am excited to read it!

F for Effort: More of the Very Best Totally Wrong Test Answers by Richard Benson: This book is HYSTERICAL! I’ve received some hilariously incorrect answers in my twelve years teaching high school, but these – they take the cake. If you need a chuckle or hundred, I highly recommend this little book!

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman: This little book was a gift from a dear friend and I finished it in less than a day. A marvelous mix of fantasy and real life, it is the story of a man returning to his childhood home and remembering a strange girl with strange stories about a lake that was really an ocean.

Joan of Arc by Mark Twain: This is actually the only book I’ve ever read by Mark Twain and it’s completely different from his usual style. He said, “I like Joan of Arc best of all my books; and it is the best; I know it perfectly well. And besides, it furnished me seven times the pleasure afforded me by any of the others; twelve years of preparation, and two years of writing. The others needed no preparation and got none.” My parents made me read this rather large book when I was in high school. At first I was not excited, but soon discovered that it is fabulous! Written as a translation of Joan’s fictionalized page, Louis de Conte, Twain created an entertaining and action packed version of historical events.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova: I absolutely adore this book! If I knew you right after I finished reading it, then you probably own your own copy (you’re welcome!). This is the story of Dracula, the real one: Vlad III, Prince of Wallachia, son of Vlad II Dracul and posthumously called Vlad the Impaler. The story as told by a young woman who’s family has a alluring and dangerous connection to this medieval warlord known for his cruelty. The history practically drips off the page – each city street, ancient library, old map reference teases the senses as you read. I guarantee you will be swept away in the romance of five hundred years of legend.

Fresh Off the Boat by Eddie Huang: This hysterical book is totally worth reading… and watching! I’ve enjoyed ABC’s version of his memoir. To quote GoodReads, “Funny, raw, and moving, and told in an irrepressibly alive and original voice, Fresh Off the Boat recasts the immigrant’s story for the twenty-first century—it’s a story of food, family, and the forging of a new notion of what it means to be American.”

Leave a Reply

