Vellichor

A dear friend sent me this BuzzFeed, 23 Perfect Words for Emotions You Never Realised Anyone Else Felt. Apparently John Koeing compiled a “compendium of invented words” into The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows.

This glorious compilation meets me at every “I’m so emotional I can’t come up with words” moment. Just as promised.

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 8.00.51 PM

Of all the words in this dictionary, this one is the most current for me. It also represents my largest expenditure because when it comes to wistfulness and books, I just cannot come out without spending money.

I don’t know what it is. Perhaps the history of every cover, knowing that countless fingers have caressed and followed each word on each line of each page? Perhaps it’s the smell of countless adventures, knowing that each book could’ve been at any lakeshore, any basement, any coffee shop, any airport, any hotel, and any bookstand? Perhaps it’s the sheer vastness of information and narrative contained in each page spanning eons of time?

I choose “D: All of the above.”

The insanity of it all is that despite the ludicracy of the world I live in, it is that the moments of absolute peace that feel so rarely are here. They are the moments that I peruse each shelf in my favorite genres. All the evil I know exists is, momentarily, only contained in the pages of books and it is my choice on what is revealed to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

