Bridget Jones’s Diary

After years of binge watching the movie, I finally finished Helen Fielding’s novel Bridget Jones’s Diary. It is gorgeous! I cannot believe I never really had a desire to read it until recently (years my friend’s regular and passionate review of her novels notwithstanding).

Bridget is a real person, one I can definitely relate to on almost every level. And I don’t feel ashamed about it, either.

In fact, all the characters are tangible. I was slightly surprised that Daniel Cleaver isn’t painted quite so harshly in print, while Bridget’s mum comes out looking absolutely terrible, comparatively speaking. Mark Darcy is adorable as ever and I had a hard time not picturing his face as Colin Firth’s and Daniel’s as Hugh Grant’s. (Didn’t have any problem picturing Bridget with mine, though, ha!).

The only (very slight) disappointment I felt was the lack of two of my favorite lines:

  1. When Mark tells Bridget he likes her “Just the way you are” (and the subsequent scenes with her flabbergasted friends).
  2. When Bridget interviews Kafir Aghani and ends it with “This has been Bridget Jones’s for ‘Sit Up Britain’ with, let’s face it, a little bit of a crush, actually.”

And of course it’s missing the famous Darcy vs. Cleaver fight.

(Suddenly nervous that in my “must continue reading this book even though it’s 2AM and I’m dog-tired” state I may have slept through those lines as well as the fight; not to worry, there’s always room for a re-read! 😉 )

Bridget Jones’s Diary was a quick little read. A laugh-out-loud moment on almost every page! It is definitely a must read and I think I must read the next two books!!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I haven’t read the book yet. But I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. I love the scene where Bridget goofs up at the book launch (Kafka’s Motorbike) in front of Rushdie and Archer. And who can forget the scene where Bridget says “…if staying here means working within 10 yards of you, frankly, I’d rather have a job wiping Saddam Hussein’s arse.” I was ROFL.
    I should watch the movie again. :))

    Like

    1. Call me Cordelia says:

      Those are some of my favorite scenes, as well! The book is quite different from the movie, but equally hilarious. I cannot wait to read the other books in her “Bridget” series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

