Outlander

I’ve read Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber — loved both! We’re about 10 episodes into the 1st season and I’m pretty impressed with how they stick to the original story line, match my imagination, and also take creative detours.

I think they nailed Claire and Jamie’s character exactly – though I pictured Jamie to be much taller. I also imagined Dougal and Colum to be younger and Murtagh to be older. These are very small, almost insignificant, differences that are very easy to dismiss as the excellent acting and the breathtaking scenery transport my to a different time.

On a side note, I found this cute quiz on the Starz website “How would you fare in 1743 Scotland?” Since you’re dying to know my results:

Outlander Rating: Sassenach

You may not be a grizzled highlander like Murtagh or Dougal, but that doesn’t mean you don’t have a good sense of survival. Like Claire, you know a thing or two about the wilderness. You can build a fire, find food, dress your wounds, and keep yourself out of trouble. You can even hunt and kill your supper, if you have the right tools by your side. And while you sometimes make decisions without thinking, you have a good chance of lasting a month, or more, in rough conditions.

Leave a Reply

