The Mark of Zorro

As a child, I am not sure if I met Zorro first or Robin Hood. They both have a clear mark in my heart and it is amusing to see Zorro described as “The Mexican Robin Hood.” Between these two and Jean Valjean it is no wonder I have an affinity for reformed criminals! 😉

Isabel Allende’s novel, Zorro, has long been on my reading to-do list. Given my life-long crush on the main character, I’m surprised it’s taken me this long to begin in it… and now that I have, I almost regret taking this long!

Allende is a master at enveloping the reader in another place and time. The richness of the descriptions make me feel as if I’m right there with Padre Mendoza at the mission… with Alejandro de la Vega in battle and later as he builds a life and home that make everyone honor and respect him, everyone except the one he loves… with Diego and Bernardo as they create their unbreakable bond, one that will be tested over and over again…

I’m not that far into Isabel Allende’s novel, but I’m loving every minute of it! It’s as if I travel back in time twice: to Spanish California and also to my childhood fantasies where El Zorro was real!

Leave a Reply

