Healthy Lemon Braised Chicken

This is one of the rare times I’ve followed a recipe to a “t” (well, almost.  I did add additional lemons… and I baked it covered, first).  I love chicken and this is one of the best recipes I’ve ever tried.

http://snackrules.com/healthy-lemon-braised-chicken/

Healthy Lemon Braised Chicken A healthy roasted chicken entree with red potatoes and green beans

Prep time:15 mins | Cook time: 50 mins | Total time: 1 hour 5 mins | Serves: 4

Ingredients

4 chicken breasts
6 tablespoons olive oil
2 lemons (1 will be sliced and 1 juiced) 4 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1 teaspoon salt
1⁄2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper 3⁄4 pound trimmed green beans
8 red potatoes, cubed

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Coat a dutch oven, cast­iron skillet, or baking dish with 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Slice one lemon and arrange lemon the slices in a single layer in the bottom of the dish
  3. In a large bowl, combine the rest of the oil, lemon juice, garlic, salt, and pepper.
  4. Add the chicken, green beans and potatoes and toss to coat.
  5. Pour the mix into the roasting pan.
  6. Roast for 50 minutes or until cooked completely

The recipe calls for baking it uncovered, I was afraid the chicken would be undercooked but the potatoes and green beans would be crispy, so I baked it covered for 50 minutes and then took the foil off and baked it enough to brown.  Actually, I forgot it was in the oven, so it got a little too brown and so it was a little dry when reheated.

I had the last of the leftovers tonight – so scrumptious!  I actually eat the lemons (they’re so soft and really add a zest to the dish) with the entree.  I think I’ll be making this again tomorrow.  This was great for school lunches because it’s a quick re-heat, tastes great (if you don’t overcook it to begin with like I did) and is healthy as advertised!

Leave a Reply

