The Hardy Ones

“… for Gerald was the baby and the little one of a brawny family.  His five brothers and their father stood six feed and over and broad in proportion, but little Gerald, at twenty-one, knew that five feet four and a half inches was as much as the Lord in His wisdom was going to allow him.  It was like Gerald that he never wasted regrets on his lack of height and never found it an obstacle to his acquisition of anything he wanted.  Rather, it was Gerald’s compact smallness that made him what he was, for he had learned early that little people must be hardy to survive among large ones.  And Gerald was hardy.”

(Description of Gerald O’Hara from Gone with the Wind, Chapter 3)

As you can see, I’m not that far into the novel.  The character descriptions are so vivid I actually slow down my reading in order to savor each succulent adjective.

For this reason, there are so many quotes and passages that are gorgeously written and will stay with me forever, but this quote resonates me with me in a personal level.

I’m really connecting with Gerald O’Hara as a character.  He is rambunctious and unruly but still maintains his lovability. This is talent.  My hat is definitely doffed to Ms. Margaret Mitchell.

Also, I am reminded of my sister.  No, she is not manly in the slightest, nor is she Irish (well, not anymore than the rest of us American mutts).  When she little, Dad called her “Half Pint” (he read all of the Little House on the Prairie books to us in the evening) and when she got older, Grandpa called her “Peanut.”

What Jess lacked in stature, she certainly made up for with wit, sarcasm, and (sorry to put this out there) the loudest belches I’ve ever heard.  Seriously, you should have seen the look on Dad’s face when she out burped him.

She eventually grew into her personality and out of her propensity to compete with our dad and brothers.  She is a gorgeous woman and one of my closest friends, but I still have to think twice before I want to cross swords with her.

I love you, Sis!

Leave a Reply

